A Journey to the Heart of Earth: It’s students (Hayford Gyamfi)

20150811_230521

Being at Earth University for two weeks, I have had the chance to sit in classrooms and hear from knowledgeable professors who are respected in their fields. They showed a few of us from Chatham University their large campus, some of their student’s projects, and we got a chance to witness how practical their curriculum is. One day out of the two weeks we were at Earth, we got a chance to go out on the students work experience on the organic farm from 6am to 11am. The amount of work, knowledge and time the student at Earth put into the field, talk less of having year round schooling, projects and also the main curriculum these students are responsible for made me realize that these students are truly incredible. I am completely impressed with the students here at Earth, and the amount of discipline that is needed to excel in each course. Especially with madates put in place such as being present in each and every class and not being allowed to fail any class. If so, you leave the school and can enroll again the following year, starting from the very begining.

I got a chance to sit down and talk with one of their senior students in his final year and talk about his experience starting from the very beginning, from how he got introduced to Earth, his interests, why he chose Earth? And what’s next for him after graduation.

The students name is Hayford Gyamfi from Accra, Ghana.  From the few days I got to know Hayford I will describe him as a disciplined guy, who defines himself as easy going, someone that enjoys making friends, an introvert in most situations, except when it comes to what he is passionate about i.e. discussing his business ideas. He enjoys an occasional match of soccer with friends or a round of table tennis, and cooking.

How did you hear about earth?

He started with a laugh.

“I didn’t know about earth, it was a coincidence and a miracle.”  I had completed a 3 year program in general agriculture in Ghana, and then served for a year. (The service he mentioned  is something that every graduate from the University does in their home country, this helps the studentt not only gain work experience in their field but allows them to work in other areas of the country and meet others from various parts as well.) When my service ended, my graduation was delayed for 2 months. Being one of the first in my class, I was given the opportunity to meet an Earth University professor who was visiting my university at the time.

I was shown an Earth University promotion video, I liked what I saw and thought about the opportunities being or participating in the program at Earth will open for me. I got interviewed on the spot and in a month or two months’ time, I received a call about my acceptance. I couldn’t sleep that night. I recalled being accepted in the month of September and the following month landing in Costa Rica ready to start my 4 month training in learning Spanish.

Earth University’s curriculum is taught in Spanish, and because the students are coming from over 43 different countries, the majority of them not knowing the language stay with a family close to the university for 4 months learning Spanish while taking Spanish class at the University also.

20150811_230523

What was the home experience like?

“Living with thee family was difficult.”  Because the best way to express myself is by speaking and since I and the family I stayed with understood and spoke two different languages we couldn’t communicate. Initially I had to communicate through signs. One thing that helped me was their youngest daughter. She knew a little English and translated for me occasionally. That was my greatest help in adapting in the home. She helped me with my assignments, challenged and encourage me to learn the language. Sometimes I misunderstood their push to help me learn the language, as them not liking me, but eventually I realized they just wanted me to learn the language. By the time my four months was over, I understood at least 60% of the language. Additionally, somethng else that helped me with learning Spanish was being surrounded by students that spoke Spanish. What hindered me was when I met with other natives from my countryy or close by, we would speak in English to each other. It was a taste of home.

What did you think earth could offer you?
After watching the 3 minute video that earth showed me, and seeing students in the lab, working on the field, being on the farm and interacting with farmers, I thought it was a different level they had at Earth. In Ghanaian schools agriculture is theoretical, but in the video it was practical. And now I believe that it was a very good decision. I believe I am a different guy for coming here.

In what way are you different?

My way of thinking. I am more business minded, I want to establish myself and not go looking for a job. That’s how big companies start, they started small but now they are big.

My way of thinking makes me realize that I can impact people’s lives. I want to help farmers maximize their profits; because if it impacts the farmers for good, it affects their families, communities, and then the nation.

Before getting to earth I never thought about entrepreneurship. I wanted to graduate and go and look for a job. But now I think otherwise.

What about this program made you think entrepreneurially?

It started the first Year after a class I took with professor Hector Medrano the class was an economic class.

Why agriculture?

I was introduced to it when I was young, between the ages of 7-9 years old. I lived with my grandmother when I was growing up, and I remember her going to the farm at least 4 days out of the week, it was a way she made a living. She would give me little jobs to do.

Even though I had the passion for Agriculture, I wanted to play football for a living. But my father didn’t agree and told me to go to a university instead. He was concerned that if I got injured, my life would be wasted. So I decided to do both, but I drifted from soccer and went towards agriculture.

I started to watch the farmers in my community and how they operated it. I noticed that after all their labor, they eventually threw their produce away because there was no place to sell them. I started to think of what I can do to help them in their farm and how to help them market their producee. There are local markets but everyone farms so the market is flooded. But if there was a channel, like processing factories then the farmers will have other avenues of income.

20150811_231811

What are you going to do after you finish?

I hope to go straight for my masters in Sustainability. Universities I am exploring are Chatham University, Arizona State University, and Tennessee state university.

I am also working with a business partner from Earth to potentially start a business in Ghana. But first we want to get our masters, and refine our ideas. But if one of us decides not to go for our masters, thatt one will be responsible for implementing the business plan.

What is it like by being with people from all over the world?

It is amazing! It’s like students from 80 different cultures. It is a nice experience. You have the freedom of sharing your culture with others. We have a fair when all the different countries prepare their own meals, and people buy, eat, interact, and dress differently from around the globe. Understanding the different cultural backgrounds, makes you understand the way people behave. I think it is important for being in the real world. I don’t know who designed the program, but I believe he did a good job.

What is one thing that you would want me to take away from this conversation?

“Take me away, I want to go to Chatham.” Based on my experiences in earth, I have realized that everything is possible, but you have to take the step to make it happen; with passion, laughter, dedication, determination not just sitting down and doing nothing. One has to be a visionary you have to know where you are going.

20150811_231146

What is one thing that you would take away from your experience at earth?

To be an aspiring agronomist. Even though sometimes I complained about waking up early, finishing class by 6pm, the heavy workload, and just being too tired at times to go to class, I really love everything.

Hayford is a brilliant student, with a bright future. In less than 4 months he will graduate with a Bachelor of Science in Agricultural sciences and natural resources management and hopefully will be pursuing his masters in Sustainability at another great university in the United States.

Feyisola Alabi
MBA & MSUS Student

Leave a comment